Sophie’s Universe, parts four and five

Sophie's Universe parts 4 and 5I am still loving this pattern but starting to find the written pattern is becoming increasingly complicated. I am now starting to use the video tutorials from It’s all in a nutshell more frequently just to make sure I have followed it right. Sometimes I have done a beautiful job, and sometimes I have done something a little random!!!!

It is really important to keep count as the blanket grows as I have managed to add the odd stitch here and there and occasionally lose them too. I can usually fix it on the next row. I’m sure I will eat my words later on but so far I’m getting away with it  (I think!)

I found it really useful as well to make notes as I went. Notes on colour choice and planned rounds to use it on. I also numbered my colours and popped them onto pegs. It helped a lot and is also a stupidly pleasing thing to do! 🙂 This tip came from the rather wonderful Attic24 blog – Blanket planning with Yarn pegs 🙂

This pattern really lends itself to a make it up as you go along approach with choosing of your colours. You can of course plan it out and make sure the leaves for example are always green. In my version of Sophie, one set of leaves are now parchment, and although I did twitch a bit with a hankering to frog that row. I am very glad I left it as it looks fine,  and as long as I try and hold back from telling people where I stuffed up no one will ever know (apart from you of course!!)

Sophie's Universe (1)

As ever a special shout out to my sons talented girlfriend Jasmine Poole, who did the photographs for this section of Sophie. Click here to have a look at her blog 🙂

12516851_10154069495898487_142777097_o

Now to get busy with the next section of Sophie, can’t wait to post 🙂

Enjoy,

 

Lx

P.S the last picture does include part 6 of my Sophie but love the pic that Jasmine took so included it anyway 🙂

2 Replies to “Sophie’s Universe, parts four and five”

  1. I am on part 5 of my Sophie and find part 5 most difficult so far. I know what you mean about the stitches. My Sophie isn’t perfect but some rows it is almost impossible to count all the stitches. Your Sophie looks great!

Leave a comment