A Curry recipe for those who don’t like curry and for those who do :)

IMG_1984I am part of a family who appear to be fairly partial to a curry. I however, do not normally like curry’s as they all seem to contain coriander (shudders)  that has been applied with a somewhat heavy hand 😦 not to mention far too much heat. I don’t mind some warmth but do not enjoy the sensation of a burning tongue while I am eating.

I must admit as well though, to being influenced in part by the pretty dodgy curries I had tried as a teenager. These put me off for the best part of twenty years. Vesta curry anyone?

Anyway, after much deliberation, a fair amount of procrastination and a nagging husband, I decided to have a go at a curry to see if I can make something that I would like as much as the rest of the family.

I turned to Madhur Jaffrey’s book “Curry Easy” that I had picked up fairly cheaply online, had a scroll though and found a recipe that had no coriander in it and a fair amount of spices that I already had in my cupboard. There is nothing worse than wanting to try a recipe and then have to go out and buy half a dozen ingredients that you will never use again 😦

The curry in question is called Kerala-style Chicken Curry. It is a really flavourful curry that is not hot. We served it with a wholemeal basmati, but I would certainly advise perhaps making more accompaniments for this if you are feeding hungry family members. The recipe claims to serve 4, we only served 3 with it, but we are gannets at the best of times 🙂

I sadly or stupidly did not take any photos of this curry as it was my first attempt, I genuinely did not think it would be blog worthy. Turns out it was the most delicious meal I have made this year and resulted in husband and first born offspring making all sorts of yummy noises 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp rapeseed oil or olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp whole cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp whole brown mustard seeds
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and sliced into half rings
  • 2 tsp peeled and freshly grated fresh ginger
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1.25 kg chicken pieces, skinned
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of sweet red paprika
  • 15-20 fresh curry leaves or 8 fresh basil leaves (I used the basil as that is what I had)
  • 250ml coconut milk
  • 1 tsp salt

Method:

  • Oil into pan and heat up.
  • Once hot, add cumin and mustard seeds. Once the mustard begins to pop (seconds) add your onions and stir fry gently till browned lightly.
  • Now add your ginger, garlic, chicken, cayenne pepper, paprika, salt and curry leaves. Stir for a minute
  • Add 250 ml water and bring to a simmer.
  • Cover, lower heat and simmer for 25 minutes. Stirring occasionally.
  • Remove lid and reduce down. Add coconut milk and cook for a minute.
  • Serve with rice.

Instead of a picture of a yummy curry, please enjoy this fabulous picture of one of our cats, Bernard 🙂

Bernard

Enjoy,

 

Lx

 

Leave a Reply

