Christmas 2014 Gingerbread Village

Gingerbread and UnicornWell as ever,me and mine planned to build a gingerbread house for Christmas. Apologies as ever for the lateness of this post, I decided to be poorly for most of the festive season 😦

This year though after trawling through the internet I found some templates for miniature houses and decided that we would make a gingerbread village. Normally it would just be me and the offspring doing this but this year we had help from wonderful friends, Annabel, Claire and Cat. We had a wonderful morning and as you can see it was very serious work!

Serious concentration - promise everyone had fun

Serious concentration – promise, everyone had fun!

My daughter and I purchased a range of sweeties including jelly tots which seem to prove harder and harder to get hold of each year and then I spent the day before Christmas eve making the gingerbread bits. The templates I used came from Miniature Gingerbread House Template 1 and mini mini gingerbread house template 2 . You can of course google away as I did, there are plenty online.

A dusting of icing sugar

A dusting of icing sugar

I used the same recipe that is featured in my original Gingerbread House article but the BBC good food one is also pretty good (you can find that one on the first template link.

Very, very pleased with the end result just don’t know what we are going to do next year to top it 🙂

Gingerbread Village 2014Enjoy,

Lx

 

Leave a Reply

