Bruschetta with olives, pesto and slow roasted baby toms – really, really easy and my absolute current fave thing to make at the moment

close up bruschettaWell, decided to get back to blogging. Safe to say I am not very regular with my posts. In my head I am much more efficient. If I’m honest this may be the one and only post for a while again or I’ll have a little flurry of baking, crochet and writing activity. Who knows, part of the fun and mystery that is me!!!

Well as mentioned in the title of this blog, my favourite thing to eat at the moment is bruschetta with green olives, pesto and slow roasted baby tomatoes. I make the bread myself (of course). The best bread for this is a simple white bread, but a foccacia style or even a ciabatta work really well too. The good thing is that because you are toasting your bread it really doesn’t matter if it is a day old and on the sturdy side. This is a great way to use up that third of a loaf that I often have left over, especially now the kids seem to have suddenly grown up and left.

First you need your loaf, my basic bread recipe can be found here Easy Bread Recipe

In order for you to have generous bruschetta, make sure you shape your loaf either to a bloomer style shape or use a tin. Whatever rocks your world. You can of course buy a rustic style loaf which would make this even easier to achieve 🙂

Bruschetta topping

  • Basil pesto, I’m sure you could make this yourself but life is too short to faff. Sometimes you just want to eat something yummy now and if you made the bread you have done more than enough.
  • Jar of green olives, about half the jar will serve 2-3 of you. Rough chop these.
  • Cherry tomatoes, slow roasted (see mini recipe below)
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • Smattering of grated parmesan

Slow roasted tomatoes , serve warm

  • punnet of small/cherry tomatoes, halved
  • olive oil or rapeseed oil
  • sea salt
  • oregano or basil, dried
  • black pepper

Method

  • Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C
  • In an ovenproof dish place your halved tomatoes.
  • Drizzle over some olive oil, sprinkle on your sea salt, pepper and herbs
  • Pop your tomatoes in the oven and then turn the oven right down to 140 – 160 degrees c and bake for around 20 – 30  minutes or so till they are just starting to go a bit droopy and luscious looking. You’ll need to adjust a bit to suit depending on the feistiness of your oven. Mine has a tendency to nuke things especially if I’m multi tasking.
  • Nigella does do a fabulous version of her moon blush tomatoes where these are left in the oven overnight. Whilst I have made it her way many times, I am rarely prepared enough to know what I want to eat the day before!

Once you are ready to have your bruschetta, all you need to do is lightly toast your bread. Smear on a little or a lot of pesto, to your taste. Pop on a generous serving of olives and then place several halves of your warm tomatoes. Sprinkle on a little parmesan if you fancy. Drizzle over olive oil and eat. Yum. I often have this for lunch and feel very virtuous when doing so 🙂

 

Tomato and Olive Bruschetta

2 thoughts on “Bruschetta with olives, pesto and slow roasted baby toms – really, really easy and my absolute current fave thing to make at the moment

Leave a Reply

