Stem Ginger Cookies – super yummy and a really easy recipe that always works

 I think that this next recipe is my very favourite to make (well it is at the moment!!).

I pretty much always have the ingredients handy, and as far as I can tell this recipe is the easiest one I have come across for a really good, chewy cookie. I am playing around with the recipe, as I think there is probably scope for an excellent oatmeal and raisin cookie (probably my favourite cookie to eat, but have been sadly disappointed with recipes over the years, so going to have a go at making my own!! Fingers crossed)

Right first things first, this recipe comes from “The Great British Book of Baking” which accompanied the TV series The Great British Bake Off. Lovely book, very nostalgic.

Ok, first things first, here are the ingredients:

  • 350g self raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 115g unsalted butter
  • 85g  golden syrup
  • 1 medium free range egg – beaten
  • 35g (2 pieces) stem ginger, drained and finely chopped

You will also need 3 baking trays greased with butter. However I never have more than 2 available so always have to cook this recipe in 2 batches. Worry not, they only take minutes to cook, so you won’t be hanging around the kitchen that long even if you only have one tray handy.

Method:

  • Preheat your oven to 170 degrees C or Gas Mark 3
  • In a bowl, sift your flour, bicarbonate of soda, ground ginger and sugar. I tend to just put all the ingredients into the bowl and then mix together using a whisk. This works really well.
  • Then in a small (non-stick if you have one) pan, melt your butter and golden syrup together over a gentle heat. Leave it to one-side until it is just lukewarm.
  • Then pour that mixture, the ginger pieces and your beaten egg into your bowl with the other ingredients and combine together.
  • Once combined you can roll the mixture into about 24 walnut sized balls. Best equipment for this is your hands!
  • Place these onto your prepared trays giving them plenty of room as they will spread out.
  • Now according to the book these will need 15 – 20 minutes to cook. Mine have never taken more than 13 minutes so do start checking them after 10. Once they are spread out and golden brown take them out of the oven, leave them to cool for a minute or two on the tray ( this will firm them up a bit) and then using a spatula, slide them off onto a cooling rack.
  • Try not to eat them when they are hot, you will burn your tongue and they actually taste better cold.
  • They can be stored in an airtight container.

My variation on these, or added extra I suppose is dark chocolate. In a bowl in the microwave, gently melt around 50 – 100g dark chocolate. This very much depends on how much chocolate you want on your cookies. I usually melt around 75g and then using a piping bag, drizzle dark chocolate on to your cooled cookies. You do not have to do this as they taste properly gorgeous without chocolate, but sometimes you have those days when only chocolate will do!

Anyway, do have a go at these as they are so satisfying to bake.

Enjoy

Lx

26 thoughts on “Stem Ginger Cookies – super yummy and a really easy recipe that always works

  1. Just an added note to these cookies, you don’t need to pipe the chocolate on to the cookies, you can just spoon and drizzle or even melt a little bit more chocolate and then half dip them. Yummy.
    Enjoy Lx

  2. Delicious, thank you! Have just made these, didn’t have ground ginger so put in nutmeg and 3x the amount of stem ginger, am now making eggnog to accompany them! Cheers and merry Christmas! x

  3. I just tried making these today… Put a little less flour and sugar in, but put some ginger syrup in instead.. Fantastically gooey in the middle! Top recipe, will definitely be trying again possibly addibg more stem ginger and some dark choc chips! thank you very much!

  4. Perfect cookies. I used crystallised ginger instead of stem and that seemed to work just as well. I also added the zest and juice of one lemon to give them a little lightness. They went down fantastically – I made them for a bbq and they had all been scoffed by the end of the day!

    • Apologies for the delay in replying Marvin. As you may have noticed I haven’t blogged for ages due to life getting in the way but my children nagged me to get back to it. The stem ginger cookie recipe makes a chewy cookie, which as far as I’m concerned is the only kind worth making!They keep quite well too assuming your family don’t eat them all in one go like mine do. Happy baking, enjoy Lx

  5. Lovely, easy recipe. I doubled the quantities which worked well. I also put extra stem ginger in & some of the syrup too. This is a great recipe for little ones to assist with.
    Will definitely be using again, thanks very much.
    Kathry

    • I’ll have to try that next time I make these. It is so often the way that I only have a bit of this and a bit of that in the cupboards, it’s nice to know when you can mess around with a recipe a bit. Thank you 🙂

  6. Great chewy biscuits – at last! Love this recipe. Added mixed spice and cinnamon for that extra taste😊 Thank you, thank you😍

    • Glad you like it, it does seem to be my most popular recipe by miles 🙂 I love to add extra spice too, especially at this time of year. Going to try and add some fresh ginger next time I bake them to see what that does 🙂 Happy baking, love L

      • Hi again! Just like your thoughts on turning your great recipe to a chocolate and orange cookies. I guess it will be replacing ginger with orange extract and zest – but should I also use the syrup or replace that with extra sugar?? Much obliged! 😊

      • Hi Isabel, I would definitely keep the golden syrup as that is what gives the cookie it’s chew. I reckon you could add oranges zest and extract and some chocolate chips for a fab version or even replace some of the flour for a tablespoon of cocoa powder. I may have a go later on this weekend and report back 🙂 Happy baking, Lx

  7. Absolutely amazing recipe! I have never baked biscuits before but after baking my best loaf so far I saw your recipe and thought I’d give it a go. Gorgeous. Better than any of the high end biscuits you can buy. Thanks very much.

    • So glad you had success with this recipe 🙂 It truly is one of my favourite recipes and gets baked probably more often than my waistline would allow!! Happy Baking, L 🙂

  8. Fantastic recipe! Delicious biscuits that came out looking so professional, miles better tasting than anything from the shop! Before putting them in the oven, I rolled the balls in demerara sugar for decoration, which gave them a really pretty effect – I’d recommend giving it a shot! 🙂

    • Glad you like this recipe, it is still my go to biscuit for any occasion. I’ll definitely try rolling them in sugar first too, ooooh wonder if lacing that sugar with cinnamon might be nice too 🙂 Happy baking, 🙂

  9. Just wondering if the batter is stiff and almost dry? Mine held together when pressed and the cookies turned out well, but the batter seemed stiff to me (I doubled it). I ordered stem ginger from the UK as it’s hard to find in Texas, I see where some used crystalized, does that work well?

    • Hi, yes the batter is pretty dry to look at but as you say it does stick together easily. Don’t be tempted to add liquid as this will cause your cookies to spread too much. I’ve not used crystallised ginger but I’m sure it will be delicious. You could always add a teaspoon of ground ginger if you wanted to punch up the ginger flavour a bit more. Stem ginger can be quite punchy in flavour 🙂 Happy Baking, Enjoy Lx

  10. This is one of my favourite recipes! So yummy and always scoffed all in one go! How long will these keep? I was thinking of baking some to post to a friend who lives up North. Do you reckon they’d still taste okay after 2 days if sealed in a tin?

    • Apologies for the terrible delay in replying to you. My memory apparently is not what it was this days!!! These are indeed so yummy and like yours my family tend to demolish these in one sitting. I have never had them around as long as two days but they do have a fairly high sugar content so I’m sure they will last the two days. Worst case scenario is that they may go a bit stale. Do please bear in mind this is my best guess, as I say, never had them around that long!!! Good luck, I’d love to know how they turn out and how long they do keep for, enjoy, Lx

Leave a Reply

